Artist’s access to art colleges at Teesside University

I am very lucky I have got into the residency programme for the academic year of 16/17. I am proposing to print, fire and slump glass powder as a freestanding text, so the powder is printed directly onto the kiln shelf with no glass sheet support. This gives a ‘lacework’ of text that needs to be strong enough to be self supporting. That requires a very coarse printing screen of 32-45 mesh and a build up of glass powder of around 3mm. The print is surprisingly stable prior to printing but obviously wouldn’t stand a lot of moving around. Personally I found 32 mesh and the powder sieved to  60 mesh the best for my purpose. I use Bullseye powder but cut is depending on colour to between 1/3-1/4 with clear powder.  See tests in feature image. My aim is to create masks out of the printed text.

Leave a Reply

